Things they don’t tell you… Part 1

I’ve just found an old Note that I wrote on Facebook (remember Notes?!) from when DorkySon was three months old. It’s called “Pregnancy, Birth and Parenting: What They Didn’t Tell Me”. It made me smile, laugh, and even cry a little to look back on how I was dealing with being a new parent, almost two years ago, so I’ve decided to post it here too.

Later this week, I’ll post an updated version – Parenting A Toddler: What They Didn’t Tell Me – but in the meantime…

It has been a funny old year. I’ve gone from feeling barely able to look after myself, to knowing that I have to look after myself because I’m growing a little bean inside me, to that little bean turning into DorkySon… and having to look after him every day.

Right now it feels pretty awesome. He’s a wonderful mellow little guy, and it’s great fun getting to know him and watching him grow up. But so often in the last 12 months I’ve wished that I’d been warned about how hard it can be – pregnancy is hard, birth is hard, and parenting is hard.

All along the way I kept having moments where I thought gosh, I wish someone had told me such-and-such. So even if this note serves no purpose other than to remind myself of those moments should I ever find myself in the same position again, here they are…

Pregnancy

Right about the time you feel you should be giving your growing baby the biggest intake of nutrients – the first twelve weeks – will be the time you are unable to stomach anything except cans of Schweppes Bitter Lemon and fizzy Haribo sweets. This will be your first experience of maternal guilt.

Really, really savour those long baths you take during your pregnancy. You won’t get another for the next 18 years.

Just because you have no stretch marks at 38 weeks doesn’t mean you will have no stretch marks at 42 weeks. No amount of cocoa butter or Bio-Oil will undo this.

Birth

Your birth provides a good lesson that you should bear in mind as a parent… whatever plan you have in mind for how the day will go will most likely be shot to pieces.

Gas and air is awesome. I’m amazed you can get it on the NHS. Perhaps the fact that it only comes in a whopping great canister brings the street value down somewhat.

Your baby’s weight isn’t the only indicator of how easy/difficult your birth will be. Length and head size are also pretty important. Who knew?!

Doctors, nurses and midwives are just like the rest of us. Some of them enter the caring profession because they care. Others just need to pay the mortgage.

No matter how uncomfortable you feel, or how long you have been in labour, don’t be rude to the anaesthetist. He’s the man who’s going to stick a needle into your spine. Saying that you hope he didn’t come bottom of his class at med school probably isn’t helpful.

You don’t need to spend too much time filling out the little menu card they give you every night in hospital. It doesn’t much matter if you order cottage pie or lasagna – it’ll be the same strange mush that appears on your plate whichever you choose, and there won’t be enough of it to keep you feeling full for longer than half an hour.

Buy one of those doughnut shaped pillows to sit on for the first few days/weeks/months post-birth. And don’t be embarrassed about it.

The little red button beside the shower in the hospital bathroom is not just a Call Midwife button, it’s an Emergency button. So don’t press it when all you’ve done is forgotten your towel, unless you’re prepared for half a dozen people to break down the bathroom door and see you standing there shivering and starkers… and then get very angry because you’ve brought them running for something less than an ’emergency’. Ho hum.

(Note to NHS Lothian… you could do with better labelling of the red buttons in your hospitals.)

And on that note, be prepared to completely lose any sense of appropriate boundaries. Even if you start the birth process slightly shy, by the time you’ve had everyone from the cleaners to the catering staff looking at your nether regions, you’ll lose any sense of dignity or privacy you ever had. You’ll emerge from the whole experience feeling that it’s totally okay to go to the loo with the door open, or talk to strangers on the bus about your placenta. How liberating!

Parenting

Everyone tells you that you need to prepare your nipples for breastfeeding to stop them hurting. No-one tells you that you need to prepare your hands for pushing a pram around every day. Unless you’re already employed as a farmhand, be prepared for callouses on your palms in the first couple of weeks.

There’s nothing more heartbreaking than going in to pick up your baby in the morning and finding that he has worn off huge tufts of his fluffy little hair and they’re stuck all over his basket. Don’t ask your husband if you should leave it outside ‘for the birds to make nests with’ unless you want him to think you have properly lost the plot.

Online shopping will be your new best friend. Unless you’re ordering disposable nappies or baby clothes online… in which case you’ll end up with cupboard full of things that your baby has outgrown in the three days between order and delivery.

If you are lucky enough to fit back into your size 8 jeans within a month of giving birth, don’t tell other new mothers because they will hate you.

It’s totally normal to spend six hours holding your crying baby and praying for him to go to sleep… and then five minutes after he finally does fall asleep, feeling the need to poke him away and make sure he’s still breathing.

Sometimes the notorious nesting instinct only kicks in after the birth, when you don’t stand a hope in hell of having a free two hours to tidy those drawers/dust those skirting boards/clean those cupboards. Deal with it.

Buying lots of books to read while breastfeeding = smart thinking.

Buying all hardbacks that are too heavy to hold one handed = expensive mistake.

No one warned me that having a baby monitor would bring out my inner 6 year old. You may think that’s just harmless static interference… I’m quite convinced it’s a ghost/alien/monster. Which is why I’m going to wake up DorkyDad and get him to check on our son instead of going through myself.

All those things you swore you’d never do? Talk about poo all the time? Spend an hour trying to get your baby to smile for the camera? Plot his length and weight on those ridiculous charts the health visitor loves so much? You’ll succumb to them all.

18 responses

  1. Ho Ho I loved the bit about fluff for the wee birdies!
    The ‘breast feeding funny’ I have to tell is that I walked around most of one day with the plastic breast shield thingy (for the non feeding breast dribbles). I only noticed when I went into a fitting room to try on a t-shirt or something can’t even remember, but unfortunately the plastic tit was quite full so when i took it out i did not know what to do with the liquid so I had to drink it! then exit shop with pram, hoping there were no cameras in the changing rooms.

  2. Don’t worry by baby number 3 you’ll be an expert, have no dignity whatsoever (having being accompanied to smear tests and the like with children 1 and 2), you won’t need hospital food because you’ll have the baby and heroically go home a few hours later so as not to upset children 1 and 2. You won’t need a doughnut cushion because you won’t be sitting down at all for the next 18 years at least. You’ll be able to breastfeed and cook fish fingers and super noodles at the same time- because you have to so no books necessary. You won’t bother with fripperies like a baby monitor, or a cot or a pram or clothes becasue you realise that you never really used them the first and second time round and baby number 3’s red book will join the red book of babies 1 and 2 in a pile somewhere- but it will have even less recorded in it.

    • Baby number 3? What are you talking about woman?! I love the bf/cooking image – funny enough I’m just writing a post about how essential it is to multitask as a parent… Thanks for the reality check🙂 x

  3. Loved it Donna – agreed with everything you said! The baby monitor monsters still freak me out a bit – we seem to have a very static-y house. The only difference now is that if I wake up in the middle of the night and it’s making a crazy noise, I’m relaxed enough to just turn it off!

  4. Brillant post, just found you through BMB, I actually think the whole motherhood thing is built on lies, apart from when they tell you you’ll never love anyone as much as the little thing you produced! That bits true!
    Nat

    • Thanks so much MmeLindt! Glad you got a laugh – I left some of the gorier details out of that story too! Some things I’m not even ready to share with Internet strangers yet… But give me a few more months on here and I might dedicate a post to the experience of being a new Mum in hospital. It might make David Cameron think twice about his NHS reforms…

  5. Pingback: Things they don’t tell you… Part 2 | dorkymum

  6. Brilliant! So true about the stretch marks and I’m glad I wasn’t the only one so broken-hearted when I found hair all over the sheet of his crib that I wanted to save it for some higher purpose🙂

  7. Pingback: DorkyMum’s Blog Carnival | dorkymum

  8. Ah brilliant – and so true about the stretchmarks….. this is why being late for things is bad! I don’t think I would have believed it all though had I read this when pregnant with my son, I’d have laughed but not REALLY got it…… although I’m now 9 wks pg with my second and am thinking ‘Oh no, I remember!’

  9. Thanks – this is now being used a warning to me for what’s to come once my first pops out (hopefully in 8 weeks!). I am now under no illusions LOL *searches belly for impending stretchmarks* x

  10. Pingback: Things they don’t tell you… Part 1 | Love All Blogs

Leave a Reply

