One more link in the Green Chain

I’ve been tagged by Donna over at MummyCentral in the Green Chain. This is a great way for bloggers to raise money for environmental causes – all we have to do is answer eight questions in their eco-interview.

In return, Priceminister will donate £10 to one of three charities – Surfers Against SewageTrees for Cities or theYoung People’s Trust for the Environment. The blogger gets to choose.

How could I resist!?

Turning the heating down by just one degree in your house saves 240kg of CO2 a year. It would take eight trees to soak up this amount of CO2! Are you currently doing anything to make your home eco-friendly?

We only use low energy lightbulbs, and restrict our central heating use as much as possible. I never leave electrical appliances on standby, I always turn off the power entirely, and I always unplug my phone and laptop chargers to avoid wasting energy. Even my two year old son gets in on the act – he won’t leave a room without turning the light off, and he loves to help with the recycling.

Rainforests once covered 14% of the earth’s land surface, now they only cover 2%. How are you reducing your use of paper? 

I very rarely print things out, only if it’s absolutely necessary. We use all recycled paper, and try to use cloths rather than kitchen towel for mopping up spills. I’ve started to get all my bank statements and bills via email rather than having paper copies delivered.

At PriceMinister we believe that trading second hand items online is a great way to extend the life span of products. Have you ever thought of buying or selling second hand items on or off line? 

I have given away or sold a lot of old baby clothes and products through online communities, as well as taking a lot to local charity shops. The majority of my son’s books and toys have been bought second hand too.

One of the biggest environmental challenges we face is Freshwater Shortages. Are you taking measures to reduce your water consumption?

I always run my washing machine on the eco cycle, and I’m a stickler for turning the tap off when I’m cleaning my teeth – I hate seeing all that water running down the plug! It’s probably the one area where I need the most education though.

How do you choose the produce that goes into your shopping basket? (any favorite products?) 

We are lucky to have a lot of local shops nearby where we get the majority of our fish, meat and vegetables. I prioritise buying local and organic food, and for items like coffee and chocolate always buy Fairtrade. For cleaning products I always buy Ecover as it is least damaging to the environment.

What is your favourite green space near home? (a photo would be great!) 

The Meadows in Edinburgh is a wonderful space for taking my son and letting him run around to burn off some energy.

Which charity would you like to support and why?

I’m going for Surfers Against Sewage, because they reach out and bring awareness of environmental issues to audiences that wouldn’t traditionally be involved.

I’m going to tag Political Parent, Dummy Mummy and Vivien Sabel.

Leave a Reply

