Thursday’s Top 5 Good Reads

For reasons that will soon become clear, I’ve not been posting very much recently (don’t worry – all is well – just busy!).

So in lieu of one of my rambles, here’s a rundown of some other blogs that I’ve been enjoying recently, some of which you might want to check out. If nothing else, it gives you an idea of how eclectic my interests are!

1. From the Dakar Side of The Toon

My old university friend Steve is now living in Senegal and working for an NGO. It doesn’t always make for the cheeriest reading – his post about being on a plane with someone who was being forcibly deported made me sit at my computer and weep – but he’s written some brilliant stuff, and even when he’s dealing with really difficult issues, some of that inimitable Morpeth humour shines through.

2.  Dummy Mummy

I think I have a bit of a blogger crush on Dummy Mummy. I’ve never met the woman; don’t know what she looks like, or any details of her life, other than what’s shared on her site. But more than any other parenting blog I’ve yet found, her posts often touch a real nerve with me. I also love the fact that she just keeps her head down and writes, and doesn’t seemed to be involved in the crazy cliques or jostling for a high position in the rankings. If you haven’t found her yet, then check it out.

3. Some, Some and Some

Becky is a friend who I met at High School. I was lucky enough to attend her lovely wedding just after I’d started uni, and then we lost touch for several years before finding each other on Facebook again. This is her blog about baking and God… and while I’m neither a great cook nor terribly religious, I still love reading it. She may be one of the nicest people on earth, and it shows in her writing.

 4. It’s the Party Line and I’ll Cry If I Want To

I don’t think I can tell you who writes this, because she’s all grown up now, having left behind boozing and swearing (ahem) to become a teacher, and she might not want her pupils to find it… She doesn’t post often, but for insightful and intelligent rants about politics, Scotland, and the state of society, this is the place to go. I wish my modern studies teacher had been this feisty.

 5. 12 Books In 12 Months

As the name suggests, Ali is trying to write 12 books in 12 months, and this blog charts her progress. It also features guest posts and lots of good chat about the Edinburgh poetry and literature scene. This week she is testing a Kindle and posting her thoughts… well worth a read.

Although I’m not doing as many proper posts just now, I’m still putting the occasional snippet up on the DorkyMum Facebook page. Please head over and like it if you haven’t already. Thank you so much! 

4 responses

    • Thanks! Let me know what you think of them🙂 I always do posts like this and then remember another half a dozen that I wish I’d included… should really keep better track! x

  1. Thank you so much for the link and especially for your kind words about me. I’m so glad you’re enjoying the blog (it always feels good when you hear that other people read it and even enjoy it!). Thank you for the other links too – they look very interesting and I’m looking forward to perusing them a bit more. Hope you have a good weekend. xx

  2. Oh you lovely, lovely lady. Thank you! What lovely things you said! And I’ll be checking these blogs out in just a sec, once I’ve caught up on all the posts of yours I’ve missed recently x

Leave a Reply

