Happy Birthday to Me!

“Happy Birthday to meeee! Happy Birthday to meeee! Happy BIRTHDAY to mee-eee! Happy Birthday to me!”

It’s not a cake and presents kind of birthday – although I did have one of those earlier in the week – but it’s my first ever blog birthday. DorkyMum is 1 year old today.

I find it hard to believe that I’ve been blogging for a whole year. But at the same time I find it hard to believe that it has only been a year. A few days ago, I was asked what I’d change my blog name too if I was starting over again. Honestly, I don’t think I could. DorkyMum is now a huge part of me, and I can’t imagine blogging under any other name.

This time a year ago, we were still in Edinburgh. DorkySon had just started doing a couple of mornings a week in nursery, and after two years of full time parenting I wanted to do something that would get me back into the habit of writing. So, almost on a whim, I decided to start a blog. Other than knowing what I’d call it, I had no idea how it was going to work out. I didn’t really know what I was going to write about. I’d never used blogging software before. I didn’t even read very many blogs myself. I certainly had no idea how many were out there, or that there was this ‘community’ of parent bloggers, with awards, and rankings, and discussion forums.

180 posts, 1500 comments and 50,000 views later, here we are!

Blogging has been so much fun. DorkySon and DorkyDad provide an endless source of material, but I also love writing about things outside of parenting. Last year I wrote a lot about the Edinburgh Fringe, and then just after we’d moved I wrote a fairly epic personal guide to the city. I also dabble occasionally in politics, photography and campaigning. Last month even saw my first ever craft post!

I will keep doing this for as long as it continues to be fun, and for as long as I can continue to do it entirely my own way. I was lucky enough to have a guest post over at Mummy from the Heart in February, talking about the rules of blogging, and the only conclusion that I could come to is that there are no rules. Do what makes you happy in your little corner of the internet, and don’t feel under pressure to do what others are doing.

Even in the year that DorkyMum has been up and running, the blogging world has changed a lot. I am watching from the sidelines as people panic about how best to promote their blogs through Pinterest, and G+. I’m listening to debates about how to make sure your blog features highly in search engine rankings, and seeing lots of discussion about how you turn your blogging hobby into a profitable business.

I have a lot of respect for the people who are having those discussions, but I am not participating. Obviously, like anyone who loves to write, I would love to make a living from writing. My little lefty dream is a column in the Guardian or the Observer. But I will have to work on acheiving that as Ruth, not as DorkyMum.

DorkyMum is just the fun stuff.

Thank you so much for reading, over the last year. I might not be making any money from this, but every time an email pings into my inbox letting me know that someone has commented on a post, or shared it on Facebook, it fills my heart up a wee bit. That’s a good feeling that you can’t put a price on.

I hope some of you will still be with me this time next year, for my 2nd Blog Birthday. (If we make it that far, there will definitely be cake.)

xx

20 responses

  1. Happy Blogday! Your post made a lot of sense to me, and the fact that you haven’t felt compelled to jump on every new tool out there (eg Pinterest, etc) but still be successful, is great to hear! Here’s to your second blogging year.

  2. I am commenting here, thus making your inbox ping, and giving you that warm feeling…..i enjoy reading your blog sooo much. thank you for the stories of fun, inspiration, smiles, giggles and soemtimes even a wee bit o’ sadness. I look forward to you posting something new. Happy 1st birthday Dorkymum….here’s to many more of ’em!!🙂 xxx

  3. Happy blogiversary to you DorkyMum, I’ve really enjoyed your blog. It makes me happy to see that you’ve enjoyed writing it. I adore blogging for all the reasons you stated and more.

    We share a similar little lefty dream but for now, like you, I’ll continue to tell my story on the blog.

    Here’s to another year of DorkyMum and many years beyond.

    Xxx

  4. Pingback: Love All Blogs » the altruistic blogging network and showcasing site that welcomes all bloggers » Happy Birthday to Me!

Leave a Reply

