Tuesday Treats

heart leaf

Tuesday Treats is a roundup of top blog posts and articles which is curated on a rotating basis by me, Chris at Thinly Spread, Lizzie at Me and My Shadow, and Becky at A Beautiful Space. For a while we took it in turns to do it as a weekly post and then we moved to monthly, but at the moment, because we’re all such busy ladies, it’s an as-and-when kind of thing! That said, I’ve read so much brilliant stuff recently that my roundups are in danger of reaching novel-length, so I might have to start doing them more often.

Here are some links to blog posts and articles I’ve read and enjoyed recently – I hope you find something in there that interests you too!

Here I am: sitting at a play date. Let’s say this play date is at a park, where the sun is shining and the kids are giggling. No flies on the snacks, no sand has been thrown. The moms are quiet but for all outward appearances, content. In this slice of domestic bliss, it suddenly occurs to me to bring up oil fracking.”- Why I mix play dates and politics – Offbeat Families

“But Lamby isn’t the only toy in trouble. There’s a girl in Croydon looking for her dog Lady; a family in Colorado missing the bear they left in Walmart; plus an ever-expanding supply of unclaimed toys found, listed, lined up and waiting for their rightful owners. A giraffe in Sheffield; a St Bernard in Stockholm; a wistful bear in Dingle marina, on the west coast of Ireland, looking out to sea.”Teddy bears lost and found: searching for Strawberry – The Guardian

“I don’t know your name but Kate called you ‘daddy’ for the entire flight last week and you kindly never corrected her.  In fact, you didn’t even flinch as you could probably tell that she was not confusing you with her own ‘daddy’ but instead making a judgment regarding your level of ‘safety’ for her.  If she calls you ‘daddy’ then you better believe she thinks you are alright.” Dear Daddy in Seat 16C – Go Team Kate

It’s not that I don’t like yellow; on the contrary I love it. I love daffodils because they’re yellow, I think the best crayon colour (and name) is “Dandelion”, the sun is yellow (as far as I recall… fuck-you Scotland) there’s nothing not to like about yellow. Even Coldplay couldn’t ruin yellow for us, though they tried.”Colouring My Thoughts – Mental Political Parent

“Hi, I’m Alison. I’m fourteen years old. I have light brown hair and hazel eyes. I am five foot five and a half. And I have aspergers syndrome. “I have Aspergers Syndrome – Just Being Me

As much as I do love cooking, there are days where it does feel like I’m in some kind of pressure test. I think that as parents, we face some of the toughest cooking conditions, some of the most discerning audiences, and some of the oddest ingredient choices. What if there were a Masterchef Mama or Masterchef Papa?” – Masterchef Mama – PhD in Parenting

The developers we bought from were, and probably still are, bastards. Seriously. I can’t think of them without anything but contempt. For months I wanted nothing but bad things to happen to them. I am all about karma. What goes around comes around.  Their time would come. They were giving out misery and heartache. One day the universe would deliver the same to them if you believe in these sorts of things.Karma and Sunshine – Mummy Barrow

“There are three toothbrushes in the mug. The cup is chipped, and the bristles on my partner’s toothbrush are discoloured, splayed and loose. And some days, that’s what I see. Those are the days when life overwhelms me with the volume of tasks that I need to complete, when every thought I might have about something pleasant or inspiring is instantly drowned out by the clatter of an imaginary ticker-tape list, spewing out items that ought to have been dealt with by now.”The Days I Want More Often – The Shoogly Peg

Buying stuff is the coal-face of human material desire,  the location of our drama about value and fairness.  It’s a simple and ancient idea, the swapping of one thing of value for another of (what we deem to be) equal value.”There’s An Unexpected Item in my Bagging Area – Sara Bran

And finally… The best awareness raising video EVER. Thirty of the most creative business cards. The best women graffiti artists, in pictures.

If you’ve read and enjoyed anything recently, please take a moment to leave me a link in the comments below.

18 responses

  1. Some lovely links in there – all bookmarked to sit and read with a cuppa later. And I have to agree Renata’s video is the best thing ever!

  2. Lovely posts! Some of blogs I didn’t know so thank you for making me discovering them. Love the series so hope to see another post soon.

Leave a Reply

